Module Reflection

This module was made up of 2 assignments, both of which I found really helped me grow as a creator and find direction in terms of placement.

Our main assignment this semester was our Placement Light/ Studio Client Project, and for this I was put with the BBC working on a VR project of Newsline. This project taught me a lot and gave me a good sense of what it is like working in the industry and collaborating with different departments, some of which have no understanding of our side of the industry. This assignment was also a group project, and I found it really beneficial being able to work with people I know as well as a company rather than jumping headfirst in to possibly working at a company with no one else I know.

As well as this, I found that this project really helped nail down the importance of project management and communication, as we had a client whose end goal we had to very much keep in mind. I did however find myself struggling as I felt that, although they told us to do what we wanted, there was a lack of creative freedom for myself and my team mates as we had to stick to quite a serious topic and fit it within the BBC’s taste and decency guidelines.

The other project we had this semester was our personal project, for which I decided to model an environment. I realised quite late on that my original plan for this project was unrealistic and would only have been possible if I had nailed my concept down tighter, but unfortunately, I neglected this project. I then decided it would be best to focus on a tangible building, and changed it to the Sunflower and am very happy with how this turned out in the end.

Overall, I really enjoyed this module, and I am really happy with the work I’ve produced this semester and I’ve felt that this moduel has helped me grow and become more ready for placement this coming year.

Leave a Reply

