Posing

Posing is critical when it comes to ensuring a characters actions and intentions are read well. To help us with this Alec asked us to try and recreate a few action poses of our choice using the rigs we’d downloaded for our walk cycle animation.

genxcore-toysrevil

GENX-Core by Takara

I began looking at references to try and decide whether I should try a stationary pose or active pose. I first decided to try a pose where the character was in the middle of an action as I felt it would be easier to read because I would be able to more easily apply the principles of animation.

The first pose I attempted was a man running. I looked at multiple references for this, including Plate 63 – Nude Male Running at Full Speed from Eadweard Muybridge’s Animal Locomotion.

plate_63_nude_male_running_full_speed

(Muybridge, 1887)

After looking at these references I attempted to pose the character so that it was clear he was running. I tried to exaggerate the pose in order to make sure the action read well to the audience and I think I achieved a good result over all.

running-pose

running-pose-2

I found these rigs really fun to work with, though there were times when the rig would break or misbehave.

References

Eadweard Muybridge. Muybridge’s Complete Human and Animal Locomotion: All 781 Plates from the 1887 Animal Locomotion, Courier Dover Publications, 1979

 

Leave a Reply

